Holiday #sundaysevens

It’s been a strange half-term for me as I was out of synch with my own children: both lovely and annoying at the same time! I was determined to get rid of the still-lingering -from-Christmas and flu-enhanced podge making a fair few items in my wardrobe a little bit too snug around the waist… With the monkeys out of the way (in the nicest possible sense of course), I was also determined to get a fair few sorting jobs done too. Decluttering seems to be a constant in our household at the moment. And of course I wanted to do some nice things too: so catching up with friends and some quality time in the sewing room beckoned.

Sunday was one of our busiest days in a while and required military-style pick-up and drop-offs for both son and daughter. Inbetween the frenetic activities and taxi-ing back and too, I managed a flying visit to an old colleague’s joint 40th and her daughter’s 1st birthday party, where it was a real treat to catch up with friends from my previous school. The image above is her daughter’s lovely cake 🙂 On the sewing front, I put an old jumper to use making some plushies for my daughter.

Sorting: cleaned and de cluttered kitchen, hoovered entire house

Exercise: It was a Sunday! 😉 Does hoovering count?

On Monday I made a concerted effort to tidy and declutter the most annoying ‘dumping’ spot in our house: our sports cupboard which houses both mine and my husband’s exercise clothing, waterproofs, weekend bags, the ever-expanding ironing pile, Winter coats…… And pretty much anything else that doesn’t have a particular home. Four charity bags later order was restored 🙂 I can’t tell you how much simple joy opening this cupboard now gives me: sad but true… I also cleaned and tidied the kitchen, again!

Catching up: coffee with friend from school who also works part-time, but in a different department, consequently we rarely get chance during term time.

Sewing: made a start on a dress for daughter

Exercise: walked monkeys up to school and back, Rocket yoga class at gym

Tuesday was Shrove Tuesday, or Pancake day. Above was our attempt at some vaguely healthy toppings. On the sewing front, despite a daft cutting out error, I finished the Playtime Tunic for my daughter out of some of my leftovers which is always satisfying.

Sorting: tidied and cleaned kitchen (Groundhog day anyone?), decluttered lounge

Catching Up: coffee with another old friend and former colleague

Exercise: walking monkeys up to school and back

Wednesday was a bit of a staying snug in the sewing room day: my favourite 🙂 Here’s my #sewingselfie. Gazing out of the window I noticed a temporary lake popping up in the small copse just beyond our garden from the recent deluge. As a reward for all my cleaning and tidying, especially that dumping cupboard, I treated myself to some very pretty and fragrant flocks.

Catching Up: met up with some other mums at the bake and take after school

Exercise: walking monkeys up and down to school and Jivamukti yoga class at gym

Sorting: kitchen again…grrr!

On Thursday I spent a pretty frustrating morning attempting to convert this vintage skirt into something more wearable. I’m still not convinced it’s going to work, but at least I tried…

Sorting: popped to IKEA for some storage stuff and rearranged socks and underwear drawers, kitchen, again…

Exercise: walking monkeys up and down to school, Hot yoga class at gym

On Friday I volunteered to help out at my daughter’s biannual dance show, where she was performing in both ballet and tap routines, as well as singing. She had a fair few costume changes, but this gold tutu was my favourite. There were lots of other Mums I knew also helping out, so although exhausting keeping them entertained between dances and hunting down missing parts of costumes, it was pretty sociable too.

Exercise: I think I can count running up and down backstage at the above, walking monkeys up and down to school

Sewing: no actual sewing, but did tidy up as we had relatives coming to stay. And of course the kitchen…

Sorting: see above

image

And finally Saturday was totally consumed by the above show too. I volunteered to help out for the matinee performance and in the evening, along with both sets of grandparents, daddy and brother we all got to enjoy watching her. Above photo is of my son rehearsing his piano piece for a local musical festival. This was actually last week, but don’t like to celebrate one child without the other. We were delighted when he won third place in his category 🙂

To join in with #sundaysevens head over to Nat’s site at Threadsandbobbins.

image

And a final, bonus photo especially for Del, just because 😊

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “Holiday #sundaysevens

    • Does it sound that bad?! Knew I needed to get ‘on it’ if I wanted to get things done whilst the kids weren’t around. Ho hum, that lovely, tidy cupboard is still making me smile every time I open it, less so the endless mess in the kitchen 😉

      • Work actually been a doddle as the sixth formers (the bulk of my classes) are off for their mocks. Enjoying a rest from all the activity last week. Monkeys been packed off to my parents for three days, so no doubt being spoilt rotten 🙂

  1. Oh my, you were a whirlwind! How annoying you were off at different times – presumably your little ones are off this week without their mum – and you usually do such nice things with them. Well done on all you achievements!

    • A woman on a mission! No idea where all the clutter comes from, I seem to spend my life clearing it all up…
      Yes, different half-terms are just plain daft! We’re a week out at Easter too, but at least I’ll get one week with them. I’ve had to send them off to my parents this week, though they’re back tomorrow 🙂

  2. I bet it has been a strange week – I always like the idea of a week off to myself but then having some company is nice too isn’t it? Love the little plushies you made. I think sorting makes you feel much better! Should probably be on my to do list for this week too…hope being back at work is ok 🙂

    • Thank you! I just wish I’d be able to step back and think it was all done, but the clutter just seems endless… That cupboard still making me smile though 🙂
      Very odd without kids at home, but I did get a lot done! Hope you’re currently enjoying yours…

    • I’ve read a lot about them and lots of people seem to love them. It feels so good just to get rid of ‘stuff’, but it takes me a very long time to work through it all. Wish I wasn’t such a natural hoarder! Will look forward to hearing how you get on with them…

      • They really work, I have only done my drawers so far, but it urged me to throw things away, because you know I will keep every thing, in case I need it or try to make something else out of it. I may do a post when I’m done with all the elements of it 😉

  3. Not much of a holiday then! Blimey, you put me to shame but, although I loathe ‘sorting out’, I DO love the satisfaction of a job well done and derive exactly the same pleasure of a well organised space. I have been known to open a door and just stare happily at the results of my endeavours! Pets are funny – my 13 year old Yorkie climbs inside my boots or handbag to go to sleep:)

    • That cupboard has needed sorting for a long while! My ‘too good to throw away’ gardening clothes pile had grown into a whole wardrobe while I wasn’t looking. I garden once or twice a month max. Seriously it was time to just get rid! And I’m still opening that door and just smiling, small pleasures! 🙂

  4. You achieved loads, in that week. I usually do at least one charity bag of decluttering every school holiday. I never get to the end of it though! Kitchens would be fine if people didn’t have to eat. I’ve got a couple of days off for half term so will be squeezing in some sewing.

  5. Some great photos this week – who doesn’t love tidy cupboards and cats in bags? It really annoys me when my holidays and the kids’ holidays don’t match. It’s a child care nightmare! We went back to college two weeks earlier than our kids did after the summer holidays which was rubbish!

Leave a Reply

