#yorkshirespoolettes Meet Up

 

Sewing can be a bit of a solo hobby at times. Sometimes this suits me just perfectly (life is pretty hectic and frankly the silence is bliss), but at other times I do worry it’s a bit anti-social, hiding away in my sewing den when I could be playing with my children or meeting up with friends… So one of my sewing goals for this year was to get more social with this sewing lark 🙂 I’ve already completed one post over on The Monthly Stitch and joined Instagram (which wasn’t half as complex as I’d thought). But yesterday’s sewing meet-up at Dewsbury, organised by the lovely (and very sociable) Ali from Thimberlina has easily topped both of these 🙂

I don’t think I was feeling as nervous as some of the other attendees, as there were at least five names on the list who I’ve been regularly ‘chatting’ with for well over a year now, all of whom it was so great to finally meet with in person. But as I parked up and attempted to locate the cafe where we were meeting, I did have a moment of ‘what on Earth am I doing?’ I needn’t have worried for even that minute though as everyone was so warm and friendly, and I have no idea how the day passed so quickly 🙂 Just like Camilla noted, over at sewingandmarking, I headed home with a big smile on my face. Sadly as you get older, I think it gets harder to meet new ‘friends’, especially a whole bunch of them together. So this was the perfect antidote 🙂

And the fabric? Well, if I’d listened to the little talking I’d given myself heading over the Penines (lovely that the meet-up was so inclusive, and there were a fair few non-Yorkshirites present too), I would have been some sort of saint with all the temptation that Dewsbury offers! It would have been such a shame to stop at the first, little pile pictured (Fab Works), so I added a few more to the pile (top right). The The staff everywhere we went were so friendly and helpful, but maybe especially at Lucky’s where we were greeted with a hot drink and snacks-a-plenty. Some of us even got to leave with snacks for the journey home but I’m mentioning no names! I’m feeling a bit guilty at how much I spent, but I did buy with a plan…

My favourite fabric in the pile was this lovely green, woolly knit destined I think for a Colette Oslo cardigan. These two, lighter-weight knits are going to be a couple of Tilly’s Agnes-es.

I’ve wanted to have a go at Tilly’s Margot pyjamas for a while and I think these two checks will make great ones. This lovely, textured knit I’m hoping will make a good Seamworks Wembly cardigan (or a Papercut Coppelia or another Oslo).

image

And finally I couldn’t resist this rabbit-cuteness for my daughter. I’m hoping one of these Oliver + S patterns will work.

But where to start? Decisions, decisions…

Thank you for such a lovely day ladies! Looking forward to the next one already 😃😃

51 thoughts on “#yorkshirespoolettes Meet Up

  1. It sounds like the perfect day out and you grabbed some lovely fabrics and patterns too. I felt the same on our first Sew Bees meet up – really calm about it until I was about to step into our meeting place and then the nerves kicked in! I needn’t have worried as everyone was so friendly. Enjoy your fabrics and I look forward to seeing your makes – especially the Agnes in that gorgeous stripy fabric! 🙂

    • Thank you! I already had the patterns, you’re making me sound even worse 😉 Although I’m all spent up now! Just need to lock myself in my sewing room for a month or so to work through this little lot…

  2. It sounds like a great day was had by all 🙂 I’m loving all of your purchases, especially the checks and bunnies! I think it’s great you already have a plan for them too! Looking forward to seeing these made up 🙂

  3. All those gorgeous fabrics – wow! You’re going to have so much fun making them up. I love the striped fabric particularly. I would love to meet some blogging buddies one day, looks like you all had a wonderful day.

    • It was so lovely to put some real life faces to all those blogs I’ve been following for a while now. And funny how everyone’s exactly how you imagine them to be from their online ‘voices’ 🙂 A few faces were certainly missed though, yours included x

  4. Oooh, such a great haul! I was quite taken with that green woolly knit and I very nearly grabbed it after you! If it’s still there next time then it’s mine! It’s great that you have a plan for these fabrics. Can’t wait to see what you make first!

  5. Pingback: The Yorkshire Spoolette’s 2nd Meet-Up | T H I M B E R L I N A

  6. What a grand collection, Teresa, and I love all your plans for them! What have you laundered? That green woulda been top o my pile – can’t wait to see your post on it! Happy sewing! xx

    • Thank you Del, such a shame you couldn’t join us but that would have been a mighty long way indeed! I’ve washed the checks, the rabbits and the brown knit so far. Was a little hesitant over the green one as think it might have some wool in it. As it’s destined for a cardigan and won’t be worn against my skin I’m thinking it won’t actually need much more than the occasional hand wash… Maybe? X

      • Thank you, luv, for those nice thoughts. 💕
        The rabbit fabric is adorable! And those checks will be grand, as will that brown. As for the wool…
        Aussie & New Zealand sewers seem to think nothing of throwing them straight into washer with proper soap & cycle. I was shocked! But have tried with an increasing number of wools & blends, and all have come out fine so far. Wouldn’t dare guarantee same for yours; could you call the shop and ask? Might be your best bet. Have fun with everything!

  7. You all clearly had a fabulous time. You’ve come home with a great haul and even better when it’s attached to a plan. Enjoy your making – I look forward to seeing the finished pieces 🙂

  8. I agree with all your fabric/pattern choices! Love that stripey knit destined for an Agnes! Someone in my class made an Oliver + S playtime dress last year, it was cute 🙂

  9. I didn’t realise you had bought so much – looks like there is some really gorgeous fabric in that pile! I do admire you for having patterns in mind whilst shopping, and for matching them up already – my haul is still in a carrier bag whilst I work out where it’s going to go! 😬

  10. Lovely to chat with you yesterday! I like the plans you have for your fabric. I had forgotten I have the coppelia cardigan pattern too, I could looked for fabric for that! Maybe next time…..

  11. Lovely to chat to you yesterday. Great fabric and pattern choices. I wish I had remembered I’ve got the coppelia cardigan pattern too, I would have had an excuse to buy more fabric!

  12. I love the catch ups with our Brisbane spoolettes, whether it’s sewing or high tea or something else. I remember how funny it felt going to the first one too! Looks like you got some great fabrics. My daughter would love that bunny fabric ;o)

  13. Oh my gracious! What a great time you all had. And I’m quite envious of the fabric shops….we have precious little near me. Might have to venture out a bit further (across the pond might be a little too far afield though, hehe). You’ve made a great haul, and good choices for the patterns. Love the green wool, love, love, love the rabbits for your little one! It will be fun to see the finished garments.

  14. Pingback: Don’t Forget To Enter The Comp’! | T H I M B E R L I N A

Leave a Reply

