So, #jeansjanuary

If you read my post over the weekend, you’ll know that I really haven’t been very well at all. For the past three days I’ve finally given into it and taken myself to bed after being sent home from work. I suspect I’ve had the flu, but been in denial, which in hindsight has probably made matters worse. Suffice to say, that I still feel pretty rubbish and it will probably take me another week or so to get back to normal.

I valiently tried to soldier on with Jeans January this morning, and I’ve got so far… but I think given my health situation and that it’s going to take me all my energies to catch up with work at school, I’m going to have to admit (I hesitate to use the word ‘defeat’), let’s call it ‘postpone’ instead 😦

What I have done, I’ve really enjoyed so far. The pockets were fun to construct, despite being time-consuming. And my first attempts at top stitching in such a bright, contrast colour aren’t too bad at all. But when I basted them together after having completed the pockets earlier, the fit is completly wrong and I’m really not in the right frame of mind to be tackling issues that I think I’d probably find pretty hard at the best of times. So I’m bowing out I’m afraid! I do feel bad letting everyone else down, but if I do get chance to sew over the weekend I’d quite like to settle down to something a whole lot simpler, not something that’s going to cause me stress after a very long week.

I’m hoping I will return to this pattern later in the year (maybe after some more practice on some regular trousers which I still don’t feel I have quite under my belt yet). The instructions (both written and online) are incredibly detailed, but there are just too many factors to contemplate for me right now sorry!

Best of luck to everyone else taking part, I’ll still be following your progress just as eagerly, but hopefully without the additional stress completing this project would cause me right now 🙂

image

44 thoughts on “So, #jeansjanuary

  1. I think you’ve made a wise decision. No prizes for a pair of jeans that you are not happy with. Give into it, rest up and get better quicker. Take care. The jeans will be there later in the year. xx

  2. Oh, I’m sorry you’re under the weather. You’ve made the right decision to concentrate on feeling better and not adding any stress into the equation. Look forward to seeing the completed jeans, however, when you’re up and at ’em again. Rest easy!

  3. Sounds like a tough, but wise decision ~ well done!
    Am so glad to hear you’re taking time to recover from this, both bodily and with work.
    The jeans will be there when you’re ready to get back to them! 💕

  4. Get well soon. Having been sent home from work myself this afternoon, I have every sympathy. I haven’t done any sewing at all so the thought of even attempting jeans is courageous to my mind!!

  5. Totally the right call, life’s too short to stress about making jeans and tackling fitting issues when you have flu! You poor thing, hope you feel better soon. xx

  6. Poor you , the flu really is the worst! I had it once and I thought I would not last the day!
    But you know, jeansinjanuary is relative time (check this out, Einstein!) and your jeans will still be jeansinjanuary in March or April 🙂

  7. Get well soon! I think sometimes you do just ‘need’ to give in to everything when you’re ill , even sewing! You look like you’ve made a great start to them anyway so hopefully they won’t be too difficult to get back to.

  8. So sorry you’re not feeling well! I hope you get some time to relax and recover. If and when you do decide to work on the jeans again you should post photos on Instagram if you need fitting help. I did that when I made mine and I got lots of great advice that really helped me out!

    • Great tip, thanks Teri! I couldn’t get them past my thighs, so def up a couple of sizes I think at the very least! And maybe some stretchier denim (my favourite RTW are very, very stretchy I’ve noticed, although I guess that would require not such a bigger size… Yes, def need a clearer head for this one!

  9. Get well soon! And don’t stress, the jeans will be there when you want to start them again. And you’ll love it! I’m also making my first pair now and getting completely addicted!!!

  10. They’re looking pretty good from this angle! I totally agree that you should wait until you’re better before you carry on. This sewing lark is supposed to be a hobby after all and therefore something you should enjoy! Hope you get better soon!

  11. Sorry to hear you’ve not been well, hoping you’re over the worst. Don’t worry about the jeans, just make sure your well for the 6th Feb 🙂 Though looks like you’ve don’t all the hard work with the cutting out, and if the fit is all wrong maybe they’ll be ok for a pair of denim shorts for around the garden!

  12. Sorry to hear you’ve been so poorly. I think when you’re a mum, you get so used to soldiering on, you don’t give in until way beyond when you should. Glad you’re having a rest now. Wishing you better quickly so you can enjoy finishing your jeans

Leave a Reply

