Christmas Holidays #sundaysevens, week 2

 

After all the Christmas feasting we were desperate for some fresh air by Sunday, so we headed out to our local NT property: Dunham Massey, to blow the cobwebs away. On Monday my in laws came to stay and we headed off to The Lowry Theatre in Salford to watch a fun, family production of Jacqueline Wilson’s Hetty Feather (still on this week if you fancy it), with lots of acrobatics and circus skills to keep the monkeys entertained.

By Tuesday we were thoroughly fed up of the endless catering so took everyone to our new, local cafe for breakfast. It was more theatre on Wednesday, this time with just the kids to see a production of Roald Dahl’s The BFG at The Bolton Octagon. We took the girls from school to see this in the last week of term, and I couldn’t resist going back with my own children. They loved it! Can’t wait for the new film out later this year.

I managed a quick bit of gardening before friends arrived to celebrate NYE on Thursday with us. I often feel overwhelmed by our garden, but just refreshing the contents of these pots by our front door made me feel I was adding a bit of much needed colour. We headed over to a neighbour’s house on NYD, so starting my dry January as I mean to go on I took this…

image

And finally we headed over the Pennines to stay with friends in Ilkly on Saturday afternoon, taking careful note of the turning for Dewsbury on the way πŸ™‚ I’m not sure the photo does it justice, but the Ilkly Christmas lights were very pretty, despite the rain and fog on the way over.

So that’s it: holidays over! I’ve spent the afternoon marking and preparing lessons for the week ahead, ugh! But it’s been a fun, incredibly busy break and I’m almost looking forward to a bit of normality, and a whole lot less cake this week! Well, almost… πŸ˜‰

See you at half term!

Teresa

X.

Head over to Nat’s site Threads and Bobbins for more details of how to join in #sundaysevens.

 

20 thoughts on “Christmas Holidays #sundaysevens, week 2

  1. Gardening on NYE! I am also overwhelmed by our garden which was razed to the ground by diggers when the extension was built eight years ago and has never recovered. Maybe this will be the year….

  2. It certainly looks like you had a great time! It is kind of a relief to get back to more of a routine, though, isn’t it? And great that you were able to get outside; I’m feeling a bit stir-crazy here, as it has been so cold (20s F) and I’ve been stuck inside. 😦

  3. The refreshed plants look lovely, and if they’re by your door I bet you will enjoy them each time you come and go.
    It must be a teacher thing to (partly) yearn for a bit of normality and routine. It does seem like FOREVER since I saw my class though!
    I’ll be steering clear of the scales for a while as I’m sure they won’t bring good news. January is a tricky month because it’s my birthday month, so I always feel any real health kicks would stumble before they got going. At least, that’s the illusion I’m currently hiding behind…
    Hope your return to work goes well too πŸ™‚

  4. Well, best of luck for the return to work. We only go back Thursday, so I have a few days respite. Well impressed with your resolve on dry January. I’ll have things peter out slowly – but then I intend to go on until Easter, which is mercifully very early this year.
    How about stash/RTW diets of any sort for you in 2016? Are you back on the habit or are you truly reformed πŸ˜‰ ?

    • Well, I enjoyed a well-earned little splurge in the sales but feel I’ve got it out of my system, fingers crossed and will be monitoring closely… I’ve done dry January for the previous two years and it’s not too bad once you get going and one weekend down! Enjoy your last couple of days off πŸ™‚

  5. I too am ready for some normality though have enjoyed being what I call normal and having proper time off at Christmas. Looks like you’ve been busy and had some lovely family time! Dewsbury is in the opposite direction to ilkley and in a totally opposite class too! But then that’s why there’s bargains to be had! I live near Junction 26 where you’ll come off if you want to follow me off the motorway? πŸ˜€

    • Sounds perfect thank you! Funny, but apparently where my husband had his first job after university – I think he said Courtmans? Childcare booked so looking forward to it, bargains and finally meeting everyone πŸ™‚ x

  6. Lovely time you’ve had, but can understand your wanting more normalcy. Have been pining for a bit of that here, too, what with all our heat & monsoon weather. Now It’s about to turn proper cold. (wink) Ilkly is the other place that always reminds me of WI & calendar women (and that movie). So wonderful you were able to enjoy live theatre with the moneys. Hope you have a lovely week and do get the turning correct when it’s time to go to Dewsbury!

    • Thanks Del, can’t imagine monsoon weather at the moment. Just damp and grey here, but not that cold yet… Ilkly is a lovely place to visit, passing the rocks always reminds me of The Calendar Girls too, such a great film πŸ™‚ We were spoilt with so much family theatre over Christmas here in the NW, the monkeys had it as part of their Christmas presents. Hope you’ve had a great break too.

      • Our monsoon was just like your “damp and grey here, but not that cold yet” weather. However, today Canada’s thoughtfully sent a cold front down and I saw a few flakes of snow earlier. But only just a few. I shan’t complain!

  7. It’s been lovely to see your Christmas pictures – thanks for joining in again! Hopefully, it won’t seem too long before the next half term now! Your theatre visits sounded great – I wish there were more on like that over here!

  8. I like how you do the holiday Sunday sevens, it’s a good idea. Bet the BFG was great πŸ™‚ I took my girls to see A Christmas Carol at the theatre (just a small one), S loved it. A, not so much, she covered her eyes most of the time lol but it was fun anyway. Should take them more.. We did see Mary Poppins in Bristol earlier in the year πŸ˜€
    Hope you’re doing well with dry Jan, that raspberry lemonade looks really nice!

    • Would love to join in every week, but too much stress and my usual week day would involve very dull shots! The BFG was fab, really fun. There’s a film coming in the Summer of it πŸ™‚ It’s hard finding something suitable when they’re young, it gets a lot easier once they pass a certain age… First serious cravings for wine last night! 😦 Two weekends down though so there’s that…

Leave a Reply

