Another Astoria

imageimage

Colette’s Seamworks’ Astoria is fast replacing both their Mabel and theirΒ Ginger in my affections it would seem πŸ™‚ Here’s my third (not counting my flop of a first effort) version, which I just about managed to squeeze out of the leftovers from my recent Coco.

I couldn’t quite manage to add any extra length in the bodice from the pieces left, so I attempted it via the waistband instead, which kind of worked, but resulted in it being a bit ‘floppy’. You can see in the photos that I’ve ended up with a kind of pleated effect where the bottom of the bodice meets the waistband. But I’m willing to live with this, as just a little bit of extra length in this design means it’s a lot more wearable. When I do allow myself to go shopping again, I definitely need a few more pairs of higher waisted jeans to go with all these Astorias

That said, this version has turned out to be a dressier version with the slight blouson-effect at the waist, which I’m really liking. It’s amazing how different fabrics result in such different effects isn’t it? This is a much lighter-weight fabric than my previous two (with a little less stretch too) so I’m thinking it would be great dressed up for a nice lunch out, which I really wasn’t expecting.

imageimage

Hands firmly on hips in these shots πŸ˜‰

37 thoughts on “Another Astoria

  1. I love that fabric and it makes a really nice Astoria! I made a second one of these a few weeks ago and I’m planning my third! I used similar jersey fabrics for both of mine, but my second one had a little bit less spandex so that fit is a bit more snug. I think I am going to go up a size to give myself a little more breathing room on the third. Even a small difference in fabric can make such a difference with knits!

  2. I too have been busy with the jersey. Another Tilly Agnes which I’ll show you later today. I was going to buy the Astoria but I think I’ll get away with redrafting the Agnes neckline. Love your spots!

  3. Ahh here’s another pattern I need to get my act together and make! You really have switched from Ginger to Astoria! Looking fabulous as always πŸ™‚

  4. Another lovely make! I really like the shape that the waistband produces. Have you thought about making the high-waisted jeans to go with them?? Just a thought! πŸ˜‰

    • Anything cropped (within reason) seems to make my legs look a little longer than they actually are, which is always a good thing! Are you missing Autumn at all, it’s really cold in the mornings and evenings here, but there has been a little sunshine in the afternoons, even here in Manchester πŸ™‚ Been loving your sunny-climate dresses recently.

      • Thank you! I’ve just got the urge to finish knitting some socks. That can only be either (a) a genetic northern hemisphere thing or (b) the power of Instagram! Either way I’m just about to make a jacket!!

  5. Yup, you’ve nailed it again, style and are looking fab. I think I’m going to have a trace off this pattern, I’ve a woolly fabric I bought last year which would be perfect. I bet this would look great on you too converted to a cardigan.

    • Hadn’t thought of that… I’m itching to make another Oslo, if only I had the time! Loved the latest menswear issue, I’m hoping the XS with a bit of tinkering, might fit Z, about time I made him something πŸ™‚ Be good for H too, have the Paxton cut out ready, but loving the gilet too.

  6. You’ve really got these down to a T haven’t you? Good idea to lengthen at the waistband too, it gives it a slightly different look which, as you say, makes it more wearable.

    • Thanks Sheila, was about to send you an email to thank you for the hat and gloves. They’re beautiful πŸ™‚ Don’t know who was more excited to open it, me or my children! The mini-tissue box was a lovely surprise too. Will have to keep an eye on it though, as my daughter had her beady eye on it for her desk (recently inherited from her brother) πŸ™‚ Will do a post on them later today and be sure to link back to you! πŸ™‚

      • Oh they’ve arrived at last! Glad you like them, I’d forgotten about the tissue cover, sounds like you may have to say goodbye to that then:)

  7. Pingback: Astoria No 5 | navybluethreads

Leave a Reply

