The Seamworks Astoria, Mark II

imageimage

I LOVE this top, in fact I’d go as far as to say it’s possibly my favourite make to date! πŸ™‚ While I didn’t get it right first time around, I knew Colette’s Astoria was worth a second attempt: this time in the right size and in a beautiful fabric I treated myself to with some of my marking pay.

The fabric is ‘cosy colours cream multi fleck’ in a sweatshirt weight. I bought it from Guthrie and Ghani’s online shop. It certainly wasn’t cheap, but so, so worth it! It’s a beautiful quality with lovely, multi-coloured, tonal, fleck details. This was my first experience of buying fabric online and I can highly recommend them. I managed to somehow delete one of the fabrics I’d wanted in my online order, so telephoned them early the next day to add it back in, and the assistant who answered couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful πŸ™‚ The parcel arrived quickly (I’ll post details of what else I ordered in my Summer Holiday #Sundaysevens post over the weekend. Let’s just say I may have treated myself a fair bit…) and it also came complete with a personalised ‘with compliments’ card, commenting on their own experience of trying a pattern I’d purchased, which I thought was a lovely touch.

This time I sized up and cut a Medium, which seemed incredibly big for me (I buy an 8 or a 10 in RTW and usually cut a Small in patterns, but do have what my Grandmother would have called a ‘BUST, she had a much more impressive ‘BUST’Β herself… if that helps with sizing at all for any would-be makers of this top). But I’m glad I did as the fit was spot-on: fitted enough to be flattering, but avoiding the Incredible Hulk impression my previous version created, never a good look, funnily enough… I also added an inch to the length of the bodice, even though I’m already pretty short, which worked perfectly whilst still keeping it ‘cropped’ in style. Because the fabric is fleece lined, I made the long-sleeved version this time around. It’s beautifully soft and warm.

imageimage

I just happened to have my yoga stuff on when I tried this on and it matched perfectly, but I also have a fair few bits of costume jewellery in these colours too, so it could easily look a lot smarter as well. This is exactly the sort of top I’d readily buy RTW, so I’m incredibly happy that I can now make it. I love how my list of ‘things not to buy when I can make them perfectly well myself thank you’ is steadily growing πŸ™‚ I can already see a whole array of these in different fabrics: both different colours and weights.

imageimage

46 thoughts on “The Seamworks Astoria, Mark II

  1. It looks very cozy and warm. I like the way you are wearing it today- with the few inches of color at the bottom- It definitely looks like it would could be dressed up a bit as well. Some things are worth giving them a second try!

  2. Looks so rtw, and really flattering. It’s on my wish list for autumn – I’ve a really thick jumper type fabric ear marked for it. Looking forward to your holiday Sunday sevens! πŸ˜€

    • Thank you! I’ve been too nervous to order fabric online before, not being able to touch it or matching it to the right pattern and so on, so pleasantly surprised at how helpful they were πŸ™‚

      • I know exactly what you mean and however good the service, there’s still a doubt about textures and colour matching whatever you do. But I don’t know how you overcome that.

      • I think I knew the company was run from Lauren of TGBSB fame and kind of presumed the price reflected the quality… This store also had a lot less stock, and the descriptions of weights etc were very clear. Some of the bigger sites completely bamboozle me with too much choice…

  3. Its a beautiful make! Looks very neatly made. The fabric looks a lovely nuetral colour you can wear with a lot if things. I love what you wrote about the growing list of things you can make, its awesome! Plus seeing your yoga outfit has thinking I need to upgrade mineπŸ˜€.

    • Thank you! I know it’s only a simple top, but I’m so pleased with it! The lovely fabric definitely helped. I might just have ordered it in another colour way too, my fingers are itching to get started on it…

  4. This looks perfect! It’s so handy to have a go to pattern for when it gets cold again – though I am wearing a sweatshirt tonight anyway as it isn’t that warm at night here so maybe I will try it before autumn!

  5. This is lovely, I love the fabric and it’s a great fit on you! Been eyeing up this pattern for a while and now I think I’ll make one ready for autumn. Think I will follow your advice to lengthen it a bit too, I would like to tuck it into a skirt.

  6. This looks really good on you! I really love that fabric– it looks like it would coordinate with so much. It looks so cute with your yoga outfit but I’m sure it would look great with a pencil skirt. I’ve got to give this one a go soon!

    • Thanks Beth. I have too many things that I’ve made, but that I don’t wear very often for various reasons. So this just made me happy because I know how much wear it’ll get πŸ™‚

  7. How brilliant to find a style that you love and will get lots of wear. No doubt we will be treated to many different versions of this as it becomes a wardrobe staple.

  8. What a really practical top – it looks great. I have also had excellent customer service from Lauren. Have you had a blog facelift – I’m catching up with my blog feed after my holidays and I’m sure yours is different!

  9. Pingback: The Seamworks Paxson | navybluethreads

  10. Pingback: Astoria No 5 | navybluethreads

Leave a Reply

