A Stash-Busting Burda 7175

imageimage

I came across this left over fabric from my BHL Charlotte, whilst I was tidying up my sewing stuff a couple of weeks ago. While there was a fair bit left, try as I might I couldn’t quite get a whole top out of it. Despite this, I figured it was the perfect fabric for another Burda 7175. My navy version (also in a tweed fabric) is probably one of my most worn, handmade tops. I also get a lot of wear out of my knitted version, see here. So off I went to Leon’s in Chorlton to try and match it up… But my options were disappointingly limited. I needed something of a similar weight, but in a contrasting colour. The lilac tweed actually features an array of lovely colours, but I just couldn’t find any of them annoyingly. Eventually I plumbed for this kind of deep- rose coloured, ‘fake’ tweed, but I was pretty unconvinced by the quality of it to be honest. In its defence it was pretty cheap, but it’s got a kind of nasty shine to it. With no other options, I thought it was at least worth a go.

Since I’ve made this top up twice before, the process was pretty quick and easy. I’m regretting not buying any lining fabric for it though, as I’ve got those nasty facings again. However in a thicker fabric, they do tend to sit a little better. On this version I decided to omit the slit details on the front. While I love the detail, it does require you to wear it with something pretty high-waisted post-children, and I only really have one pair of jeans that cover me up enough for comfort. It’s a little boxier without the slits, but I think that kind of suits the style. I used a fancy zip on the back to try and ‘pretty up’ the fake tweed, which I do like, but you can probably just about make out that I still need to finish the bottom of the zip by hand. I couldn’t quite get my machine needle in close enough.

I love this top from the front and it goes really well with my white jeans, but I’m less convinced by the back! I guess that’s the right way round at least! Excuse the bad, selfie-stick images, but it’s pretty tricky getting a photo of the back whilst holding it (monkeys both at school). What do you think? Does this top work? Maybe if I avoid showing anyone my back? Walk around backwards at all times? 😉

imageimage

35 thoughts on “A Stash-Busting Burda 7175

  1. It looks fine, Dear One, & love your scalloped zip. The back might not be your favoured view, but the front’s being worn & enjoyed. One of these days you might find the perfect fabric, and replace that back, adding slacks or a skirt. Or maybe a jacket … who knows! I’ve had that happen with a piece of two… you never know! 😊

  2. From the photos I think it looks good! I love that fancy zipper. I’ve never come across any zippers like this– maybe if I search on etsy I can come up with something. I would love a top that zips in the back like that.

    • Thanks Clarinda. I’m lucky to have already finished (Wednesday), but I’m still marking for one of the exam boards. Better than attempting to do both though… Hope you haven’t got too much longer to go.

  3. Lovely top. I think the fabrics work really well. I wonder if part of you concern is driven by the fact you love the front fabric so much, so you’re finding it harder to love the back?

  4. Ah I think people will be looking at your front, not back, and if they see the back they may not see the front so who cares?! I love the zip! I need to get one of those!

Leave a Reply

