#MeMadeMay, The Home Straight!

imageimage

Anyone else about to breathe a sigh of relief that it’s over? While I enjoyed the idea and the start of MMMay this year, boy did the weather make it far more difficult than it should have been… So, the final straight? Here we go…

Monday was a bank holiday here in the UK. I dug out my originalΒ BHL Polly, which I haven’t worn in a long time, for lunch out with the family. It’s just been far too cold, hence the vest underneath and cardigan over. But I really do like this one, unlike the later one I made.

Tuesday and back to the marking piles. This Tilly and the Buttons Megan dress is proving even more comfy than jeans for sitting around in. Again, layered up as it’s still cold…

imageimage

Time for the knits to come out! These never feel quite as flattering on, making me look a good stone heavier, but I do like both of these. I wore my pale blue cardigan on Wednesday (Sirdar ) which looks a lot better with a pencil skirt, but ok-ish with my white jeans and it’s half-term, so there’s no chance I’m wearing a pencil skirt this week! On Thursday (marking again at home) I wore my Rowan, minty green cardigan. This really is ancient, but I chose the colour well, so it still goes with lots of items in my wardrobe πŸ™‚

imageimage

And I’m ending the month on the beautiful island of Anglesey. I love it here πŸ™‚ For the journey up and our first day here (Beaumaris beach) I wore my new, unblogged Maria of Denmark Kirsten, kimono tee, Β which I already love. So wish I’d had chance to run up a few more of these this month, a long-sleeved version would have been even better (and I’ve already downloaded the free Deer and Doe pattern, yes)… Worn on Friday with a matching infinity scarf to keep out the chills.

Saturday evening we headed for The Ship Inn at Red Wharf Bay, a beautiful, old public house situated right on the beach. I had packed the Sencha blouse featured in my banner fabric to bow out on, but it was seriously very, very cold. So a me-fixed jumper (with thermal vest underneath (it’s May after all!?!) and scarf served me well instead. In case you’re ever in the area, I can highly recommend the Menai Mussels and chocolate and beetroot cake πŸ™‚

Sunday, I was rudely awakened by my alarm at 6.30am to head back to Manchester for a marking meeting. I wore exactly the same, but with far less scenic background, hence no photos…

So, while I officially made it, it was pretty hard work! The work side of it was fine, but I seriously need some transitional pieces to see me through such a cold May! And casual night-out ‘appropriate’ tops were another big problem. So, some clear future projects have emerged, which is probably the point really…

So a full week of RTW ahead everyone? Oh, go on them I could probably squeeze in a few MeMades too… πŸ™‚

Many thanks Zoe, as always, for hosting

x.

22 thoughts on “#MeMadeMay, The Home Straight!

  1. Brrrr just looking at all your knits makes me feel cold! Congratulations for wearing so much lovely me-made stuff. Don’t wear RTW all next week!! In fact I bet you won’t and can’t!! Especially seeing as half term is over and you will have to wear at least one of your Charlottes!

    • Thank you! And I certainly needed them, although it didn’t rain, so it could have been worse… Wales is beautiful, but well known for its rain πŸ™‚ I didn’t expect much more…

  2. Lovely outfits all this month long – congratulations! Must admit your weather looks inviting… We’ve a heat wave & high humidity over here. Yuck! Will look forward to seeing how you fill in your gaps ~ get my best ideas from you fellow bloggers!

  3. I haven’t been to Angelsey for years – even looking frozen you’ve made me want to visit again. I think it’s the first time I’ve realised you are also a knitter. Well done on your MMM – I’m still pondering on my lessons learned before I do my final round up.

  4. Growing up in Llandudno, Anglesey was where we spent many a sunny day in the beach but I know how cold it can be too!
    I’m with you on the knits. I’d love to find a pattern that was flattering. I just end up looking frumpy and busty. I love to knit but the thought of the cost and the time to end up with something else I wouldn’t enjoy wearing puts me off. Have you come across a flattering pattern?

    • I didn’t realise you were Welsh too Lucie πŸ™‚ Do you speak it? I’ve just replied to someone else commenting on how pretty Llandudno is too. Maybe the problems with knitted patterns is to do with having a bust then, and a short torso in my case. The first cardigan, because of the high, ribbed waist is actually more flattering on – it clearly doesn’t go that well with jeans. I find knitting so therapeutic though, I keep going. I’m knitting with a really thin cotton wool at the moment, hoping it will be less ‘bulky’ on, I’ll let you know…

  5. Congratulations on completing MMM! I’m a bit jealous of your lovely knitted cardigans. I think I need some of them for next May!

    • Thank you. I had mixed feelings about the Polly top. For me it had to be made up in a lighter weight fabric. I made up another one in heavier weight fabric (not that heavy though) which didn’t work at all. Will look forward to seeing how yours turns out πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

