For the Love of Leftovers!

imageimage

I did originally go back and buy another metre of this lovely fabric (John Lewis January sale) with a yet anotherΒ Mabel in mind. But when I got it out again I realised that if I didn’t bother with any pattern matching, I could easily run one up with the lovely leftovers from my Megan dress, thus leaving an intact metre for something else…

In case you haven’t come across this pattern before, it’s a super easy knit pattern from Colette. I cut a size S, and version 3, but this time omitting any kind of back vent. This made for a much neater shape (kinda wishing I’d left it off my others) and an even quicker make πŸ™‚ I had a long strip of fabric left over, so rather than return it to my stash, the obvious solution was yet another infinity scarf: super cosy for the continued, cold weather we’re experiencing. And really satisfying using up every last scrap of my original purchase: there are some benefits to being a shortie and always having to cut loads off the length πŸ˜‰

imageimage

Both incidentally completed on my overlocker. So used to it by now that I almost forgot to mention it, which has to be a good thing πŸ˜‰

 

34 thoughts on “For the Love of Leftovers!

  1. That must be so satisfying – using up all your scraps and getting coordinating pieces too! I have grand plans to make kids’ clothes with my scraps but I need to get on to it before my goddaughter and Chris’ niece get too big!

  2. What a bonus, getting another make out of the scraps – I love it when that happens, it’s almost like getting a present! Coordinating cowl too, very “Project Runway”!

    • Nope, but they’ve snapped so many times now I don’t think it will be such a big deal. Black is working well for me, but someone suggested a charcoal grey which I think would be an even better neutral. I’d definitely do it in daylight though πŸ˜‰

    • I’m hoping to grab a couple of hours here and there, but we’ll see… I think I’m going to end up with a whole wardrobe full of these scarves. It’s frosty here again this morning, so perfectly justified πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: Mistakes? I’ve Made a Few… | navybluethreads

  4. Pingback: One More Mabel for the Road | navybluethreads

Leave a Reply

