A Year in the Making

And it’s only a scarf, I know!

imageimage

I’m a slow knitter, it’s official! I do like knitting, but it’s definitely an Autumn/Winter past time for me. I was inspired to start this last Winter when I spotted a very similar version in Hobbs, but for a silly price. I followed a simple ribbed scarf pattern from Louisa Harding’s ‘hats gloves scarves’ and then added the pom poms.

You can see from these photos that my pom poms need a bit more of a trim, but I was pretty nervous of trimming them too much when I first finished. I was also worried that I wasn’t going to be able to wear this for a while, but my son was taking part in a cross country competition this morning and I’m glad I had it, as it was freezing standing around in the rain, cheering him on. He came 56th out of about 200 runners though, so not too shoddy at all and well worth enduring the cold for πŸ™‚

I was inspired to get this finished after joining our knitting club at school, which has been great fun. A couple of the girls are already able to knit, having been taught by their mums or grans, but most of them are complete beginners, so it’s been great seeing them learn and progress. We have all ages attending, from our little year sevens up to a few sixth formers. It’s really lovely to pass on the skill and get to have a natter with them on a more informal basis. I also teach in a pretty high performing school, so it’s the perfect activity to allow them a little down time too.

imageimage

And if you haven’t made a pom pom for a good few years like me, I highly recommend it! I’d forgotten how much fun it was, even the endless winding… And as for the gentle prising off and cutting: pure, childish joy! πŸ™‚

 

10 thoughts on “A Year in the Making

    • Thanks Teri, I must admit I’m not entirely sure I’ve attached them right. I knitted a cord as advised, but they look a little precarious, especially with small hands giving them the odd tug…

  1. Looks fab! We too have a knitting bee…..for Y4s this year! It’s interesting shall we say! Hahaha I hope you don’t mind but I put a link to your blog from my post! Hope that is ok! Xx

Leave a Reply

