OWOP Week 2014

My pattern of choice for OWOP had to be Colette’s Ginger skirt. I now have four versions of this skirt, see here, here, here and here. My denim version is pretty casual, (and quite frankly not in the best condition, see here. I’ve patched it up, but realistically I need to make a new one). The other three are good, smart-casual wears, that could be dressed up a little for work, or down a little for weekend and off-duty wear. It’s been a pretty busy week, but at least the sun shone…

imageimage

Saturday– At my son’s birthday party. As you can see, he had a creepy crawly theme! I’m wearing my denim Ginger with a Banana Republic t-shirt, and am accompanied by a bearded dragon and a leopard chameleon! Yes, this week I even have animals! As you can see from the expression on my face though, I was clearly more comfortable with some of these than others. My son and his friends had a fab time 🙂

imageimageimageimage

Sunday– At a park in nearby Knutsford, wearing my favourite, navy, linen Ginger with FC blouse and a Boden cardigan. Not the best of photos, but there’s an owl, kind of…

Monday– At work, so clearly needed to look a touch smarter. I’m wearing my green Ginger (aka ‘the snooker table skirt’, which never fails to make me smile), with a River Island blouse and a Hobbs jacket. Usual location 😉

Tuesday– Another work day, wearing my navy, linen Ginger for the second time with a Monsoon blouse and Linea (H of F) jacket.

Wednesday – My day off: kids to school, gym, hairdressers, kids back from school and general errands. Much though I love this version of the skirt (worn with River Island blouse and Monsoon cardigan), it’s seriously on its last legs. It’s also a fraction too short if I’m honest. I really need to make myself a new one of these.

imageimage

Thursday– Back to work again. I’m wearing my spotted Ginger with Linea blouse and Hobbs jacket. Not entirely convinced this is a ‘work’ skirt, hence my attempts to smarten it up with a jacket. Please excuse rubbish ‘selfie’, no family available to cajole into taking photos.

Friday – Final day of the challenge. I had to end on my favourite: my navy blue, linen Ginger, worn here with a Hobbs top and M and S jacket.

 

I really enjoyed this challenge, thank you Jane for hosting 🙂 When I took part in MMMay earlier this year, I managed one handmade item ‘every other week day’. I’ve clearly made a fair amount of new items since then (and they’ve got a whole lot neater). Granted, I wouldn’t normally wear the same skirt pattern all week, and I was itching to pull out a dress or at least a different kind of skirt by Thursday but I did it, I wore me-made items every day for a whole week! 🙂

Lessons learnt?

My navy, linen Ginger (which I already knew was my favourite), was also my most versatile. It got worn three times easily.

I’m clearly comfortable wearing one me-made item at a time, carefully blended with well-made RTW items. I’m guessing that as I get more skilled, I’ll feel confident to wear more than one piece at a time.

I also clearly have a work ‘uniform’ that I wasn’t really aware of until now: skirt, cream or white blouse, fitted jacket and Clarks heels. Exaggerated this week clearly, but still, who knew?

I need a new denim Ginger.

Boy, do I love this design! Far from stopping at four, I’m already looking forward to making some Winter-appropriate versions…

 

21 thoughts on “OWOP Week 2014

  1. Your navy linen is my favourite too! I have made two Gingers and worn both all through the summer. One was made from a curtain from a charity shop and my second attempt was floral linen. I think I will have to brazenly make a navy linen one for the winter…

  2. They all look great and well done on completing the OWOP challenge! I think the blue linen is my favourite, although the snooker table skirt is the most stunning green and it makes me smile too! 😉

  3. Aw what a wonderful week you’ve had! I’m also a big fan of the Ginger skirt (it was my pattern for the last OWOP) and love how you’ve styled it each day. It looks great dressed up for work (I really like your work uniform by the way!) or casual with the stripes. Fab, fab, fab! Thanks so much for taking part. X

  4. You look great in this skirt! It’s so fun to see how everyone managed to make the same pattern look different each day. You did a great job of looking professional and casual all while wearing different versions of the same skirt.

  5. What a fantastic collection of skirts and you look stunning in them all!

    You’ve definitely made me think I should try the Ginger pattern. I’ve always been wary because I’ve got quite a short body, and I thought it would be too high-waisted, but I can see from yours that it doesn’t have to be.

    • Thank you, that’s very kind of you. I’m really short and find this pattern super flattering. You could always cut down the waistband a little, or use the plainer version. Tilly’s Delphine skirt is a similar shape but less high on the waist so that might work too?

  6. I love the way you’ve styled the gingers all week, very chic! 🙂 It’s such a versatile pattern and really suits you. Must get myself organised to have a go next year…

Leave a Reply

