‘Love Sewing’ Brigitte Dress

image image

I’ve just taken out a subscription for this magazine, so I was clearly impressed by it, but boy was this pattern confusing to cut out and assemble! There was so much overlapping that I’m amazed I ended up cutting the right size…

I found this sewalong @threadcarefully, via @AfterDarkSewing, really helpful, as the instructions included, although clear, were pretty minimal. Their most useful reminder? To check the fabric is the right way up before cutting. Not sure this would have been relevant to any fabric I’ve worked with in the past, but these roses definitely had a ‘right’ way up 🙂 Thank you for the tip!

I also found their tips on setting in sleeves useful, as it’s not something I’ve attempted since my failed BHL Elisalex dress, which I will return to in the Autumn.  I had already pulled this lace trim out for some detailing, but I’d be lying if I said I’d intended to use it to edge the bottom, but this dress came out SHORT! I really must make a mental note to check length more carefully as this lace edging is starting to become a habit. Good job my taste runs to ‘pretty’ generally.

I’m pretty surprised at how flattering this shape turned out to be, as I wasn’t sure how a cotton version of this would work. I’d love to attempt this again, once I’ve tamed my knits fear, as the striped version in their magazine is just perfect. All in all this is the perfect Summer day dress, I’m looking forward to lunching out in it soon.

image image

I’d been to my school ball the night before these photos, hence my (ahem!) enhanced (shall we say?) colour 😉

19 thoughts on “‘Love Sewing’ Brigitte Dress

  1. It’s so pretty! I really love it! 🙂
    I’m glad you found the sewalong, it wouldn’t have been possible without it would it! I don’t know if I want to tackle the next pattern from Love Sewing on my own!!

  2. I love this dress…I had some of this lace and made a ruffle neck on a dress last summer. Looks much more effective on yours tho! I think perhaps the dress was too insipid in colour!

Leave a Reply

