Me Made Mishap!

I’ve been loving taking part in MMM14 for the first time. Not only have I gained great inspiration from others, but it’s forced me to actually WEAR my Me Made items, which, probably like many others, I didn’t always have the confidence to do in the past. One of my many excuses for not wearing them all that much was a somewhat irrational fear of some kind of clothing malfunction taking place.

Well, on Saturday it proved to be not all that irrational a fear after all…

I happily donned my chambray Ginger for a family day out with friends. What disaster befell me? Well, it certainly could have been a lot worse I guess.There were no rips, tears or holes, but when I came to remove it at the end of the day I was well and truly stuck! The zip just wasn’t budging.

Flummoxed, each of the other three adults with me gave it their best shot, but to no avail ๐Ÿ˜ฆ To my annoyance it didn’t even appear to be caught on anything. It was just totally refusing to move at all. I really did love this skirt, but there was nothing for it but to get out the unpicker and ‘rip’ myself out of it…

So now, I’m now left with this…

image

I’m hoping it can be fixed. After reading Jane’s blog over at Homemade Jane, where she models her lovely, red denim Delphine Skirt from Love At First Stitch, I figured maybe I needed a different type of zip so on Monday I purchased this metal zipper, hoping it might prove stronger.

image

 

I’ve only ever done invisible zips, but normal ones are supposed to be easier aren’t they? Might not be as neat as an invisible one, but I’m hoping it’ll last a bit longer and that I can fix the slight pull at the base of the old one I’m replacing.

What’s the worst sewing mishap you’ve experienced?

 

15 thoughts on “Me Made Mishap!

  1. Oh no, how annoying. I once put a zip carefully in by hand, only to find it didn’t work at all. I’m sure you’ll be able to fix it, it’s a great skirt and a normal zip is easier and stronger. Good luck.

    • I’m going to give it my undivided attention over the weekend. At least they were good friends so we had a good laugh about it! Could have been far worse in a more formal situation…

  2. AH! So sorry this happened! I am going to attempt to make some shorts this weekend and I have never done a zip fly before. I hope I don’t have too many mishaps trying to work it out!

    • I’ve just been trying to fix it. New zipper in, but looking pretty ‘messy’. Think I’ll have to ‘bag out’ whatever top I’ve paired it with, over the tip to hide it. Hoping I might just about get away with it… Good luck with your shorts! Will make sure I look up how you get on with them ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I so know how you must have felt! The exact same thing happened to me last year with a dress. The zip just would not move. I suppose know the reason: I made the dress one size too small (call that denial), so the zip was stretched to bursting point all day I was wearing it and that must have somehow destroyed it. The dress still isn’t fixed – too embarrassed…

  4. Pingback: OWOP Week 2014 | navybluethreads

  5. Pingback: Waste not, Want not… | navybluethreads

  6. Pingback: The Winter Ginger | navybluethreads

  7. Pingback: Top 5 Misses 2014 | navybluethreads

Leave a Reply

