Me-Made-May 2014

Last year, I unofficially followed ( I think there’s an official term for this? Loiterers or Lurkers maybe?) a few bloggers who were taking part in something called ‘Me-Made-May’ , the aim of which appeared to be to encourage us all to make better use of our homemade items. After reading more about this event on Kathryn of yesilikethat.wordpress.com’s blog (thank you!), I’ve decided to sign up for this year’s event. I figure it will make me think a bit more carefully about what I sew and why.

I started blogging for several reasons: firstly, because none of my friends sew, and my husband, though he does his best to feign interest, is pretty nonplussed with my creations, so I thought it would be nice to join an online community; secondly it might also encourage me to get a bit more blog-savvy before my children catch me up (they’re only six and eight, but it really does scare me that once they do start, a while off yet I appreciate, but I won’t have a clue what they’re up to); and thirdly to stop myself from buying so many clothes (or at least less…) and to instead take the time to create items myself that I can wear with (reasonable, as long as no one looks too closely) pride.

As for my pledge, well I couldn’t possibly aim for every day in May, as many experienced sewers have done! I wear most of my handmade items for work, and currently aim for one item a week. With the exception of a couple of items I’ve up cycled (also allowed) for the evening, I really don’t think I could manage weekends at all, which clearly points out a gaping hole in my hand sewn wardrobe. I think I’d get a lot of weekend wear out of items sewn with knitted fabrics, but am pretty convinced they’re out of my skills-zone at the moment. So weekdays it is, but clearly not every weekday, as I don’t have nearly enough home sewn items. As the aim of the challenge is to ‘up the ante’ as it were, I thought an achievable challenge would be every other weekday, which I think I could just about manage. So here it is…

‘I, Teresa, of navybluethreads.wordpress.com, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’14. I will endeavour to wear one item of me-made or refashioned origin every other weekday of May.’

Now I just have to work out how to attach something apparently called a ‘widget’ to my page…

Leave a Reply

